Presently: Tick, tock. Tick, tock.

I make time to blog.

The weather is dismal in Cape Town (rain, for the past three days straight), I have a calendar filled with meetings and coffees (meetings = work, coffee = personal connects), an (ever) expanding list of things to do, watch, make, buy and return AND I’m starting a new job in less than two weeks time. But still, I make time to blog.

Over the past few days I’ve visited Johannesburg, worked from the Slow in the City lounge, spent many hours with my family, partied with friends, managed to watch some tennis (crying my eyes out for Andy Murray at the Wimbledon Final) and squeeze in some shopping (!).

I also (finally!) managed to finish Our Kind of Traitor by John Le Carré (the famous spy writer). It was incredibly tough to stick to, especially in the beginning. I even managed to finish The Spy Who Came In From The Cold in-between. It took me at least three attempts to get into the book, but I finally did. Having read The Spy Who Came In From The Cold I had a feeling of what to expect with Our Kind of Traitor (especially with the ending, which felt recycled!). Our Kind of Traitor felt a bit cushioned with unnecessary detail and filler text not relevant to the story. The only real content and thrill was toward the end of the novel, which I have to admit was incredibly gripping. If only Le Carré wrote like that the whole way through…

Happy Monday!

x.B

